Tasteful Dishing

Mashed Potatoes

Smooth & Creamy Mashed Potatoes

Who doesn’t love mashed potatoes?  Thanksgiving and Christmas Dinner were always my favorite “eating” holidays growing up because I knew we would have homemade mashed potatoes and gravy.  The other 363 days of the year, the beloved starch came from a cardboard box in the form of flakes.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that (said no Foodie ever)!  Over the years, I’ve played with numerous recipes for mashed potatoes, making most of it up as I went along and along.  Finally, I settled on this basic recipe.  Once mixed, I encourage you to add your special flare to the dish.  Roasted garlic and fennel is a good place to start.

Ingredients

5 pounds Yukon Gold Potatoes (In my humble opinion, these are the best potatoes for mashing)
1 stick Butter (less 1 tbsp) softened — Yes, real butter, not margarine.
8 oz Cream Cheese…

View original post 224 more words

Leave a Reply

