Tagliatelle alla bolognese

Food for thought

bologneseThis is one of those traditional Italian dishes that has become famous the world over as Spaghetti bolognese/bolognaise, or, as us Brits fondly call it; Spag bol. I say ‘us’, I have to admit that I myself have never used this term…. Anyway, it is now as famous as it is corrupted, and what you expect these days from Spaghetti bolognese is actually quite far from the original dish, which, believe it or not, isn’t even made using spaghetti!

The traditional dish is made with tagliatelle which are long, thin, flat ribbons of pasta. These are usually made fresh, with egg, giving the pasta quite a rough texture which holds thick sauces really well. This is why a rich ragù (a meat based sauce) like ragu alla bolgonese , works so well with it.

I didn’t make my own fresh pasta for this dish, but I did make sure to…

View original post 419 more words

Leave a Reply

